

Polish Congress Ambassadors 2021

2021-08-10

On 18 June 2021 the Polish Congress Ambassadors Programme Chapter chose 9 new outstanding celebrities representing scientific and business circles to join the group of Honorary Polish Congress Ambassadors, among which two had been proposed by Kraków Convention Bureau! So far, the title of the Congress Ambassador has been awarded to over 250 persons, including over 60 from Krakow and the Małopolska Region.

The title of the Honorary Polish Congress Ambassador from Krakow has been awarded to: Dr. n. med. Barbara Jasiewicz, Department of Orthopaedics, Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation Clinic of Jagiellonian University Collegium Medicum in Zakopane, and Dr. inż. Piotr Bielaczyc, Bosmal Automotive Research and Development Institute in Bielsko-Biała. The meeting with the winners of the 2020 and 2021 edition will be held and diplomas of recognition will be awarded during the ceremonial Gala of Polish Congress Ambassadors, which will take place in the autumn-winter season in Gdynia.

The Congress Ambassadors Programme is conducted jointly by the Polish Tourism Organisation and non-governmental Polish Conference and Congress Association, and aims at honouring people who, with great commitment, win new congresses for Poland. While representing our country in various international structures, Congress Ambassadors use their extensive and significant contacts to promote our country, its culture, and its scientific achievements.

As a result of the discussion and voting by the Chapter, 9 eminent persons joined the group of Honorary Polish Congress Ambassadors:

- 0. Dr. inż. Piotr Bielaczyc, Bosmal Automotive Research and Development Institute (Bielsko-Biała);
- 0. Dr. hab. inż. Krzysztof Burnecki, Faculty of Pure and Applied Mathematics, Wrocław University of Science and Technology (Wrocław);
- 0. Prof. Dr. hab. Andrzej Chmielewski, Institute of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology (Warsaw):
- 1. Dr. n. med. Barbara Jasiewicz, Department of Orthopaedics, Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation Clinic of Jagiellonian University Collegium Medicum in Zakopane (Zakopane);
- 0. Prof. zw. Dr. hab. n. med. Marek Jóźwiak, Department of Pediatric Ortopaedics and Traumatology (Poznań);
- 0. Prof. Dr. hab. Wojciech Kujawski, Faculty of Chemistry, Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń (Toruń).
- 0. Prof. Dr. hab. Agnieszka Merkisz-Guranowska, Institute of Transport Director, Faculty of Civil and Transport Engineering, Poznań University of Technology (Poznań);
- 0. Prof. Dr. hab. n. med. Maria Mielnik-Błaszczak, Chair and Department of Developmental Age Stomatology, Medical University of Lublin (Lublin);
- 1. Dr. Anna Wałek, Director of the Library of Gdańsk University of Technology (Gdańsk).

The following chapter members took part in the session:



- 0. Prof. Dr. hab. inż. Marek Pawełczyk, Vice-Rector for Science and Development, Silesian University of Technology, President of the PCA Programme Chapter
- 0. Katarzyna Cioch, President of Medical Association Management;
- 0. Mateusz Czerwiński, Vice-President of Warsaw Convention Bureau;
- 0. Paula Fanderowska, President of SKKP, Deputy Head of Krakow Festival Office for ICE Kraków Congress Centre;
- 0. Michał Fijoł, Management Board Member for Commercial Affairs, LOT Polish Airlines;
- 0. Aneta Książek, Head of Section at Poland Convention Bureau POT, Secretary at Polish Congress Ambassadors Programme Chapter (presiding over the session);
- 0. Prof. Dr. hab. Krzysztof A. Makowski, Faculty of Historical Studies, Adam Mickiewicz University;
- 0. Prof. Dr. hab. inż. Józef Modelski, Institute of Radioelectronics and Multimedia Technology, Warsaw University of Technology;
- 0. Arkadiusz Opoń, Vice-President of the Polish Tourism Organisation;
- 0. Agnieszka Szymerowska, President of Convention Bureau Wrocław;
- 0. Tomasz Zjawiony, President of the Regional Chamber of Commerce in Katowice.

The members of the PCA Chapter, who debated online, unanimously emphasised the exceptional nature of this year's edition of the programme and the equally <u>high standard of all the candidates</u>, whom we heartily congratulate!